REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

SPORTS

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-USA-THA/

'An explosion of joy' - U.S. defend World Cup celebrations

U.S. captain Megan Rapinoe on Wednesday defended her under-fire team mates' exuberant celebrations during their record 13-0 World Cup victory over Thailand in Reims.

GOLF-USOPEN/

Player needs treatment after U.S. Open ace

PEBBLE BEACH, CA. (Reuters) - Kevin O’Connell is still down to play in the U.S. Open, the United States Golf Association (USGA) said on Wednesday, despite reports that he needed medical treatment during a practice round following a hole-in-one.

OLYMPICS-DOPING/

Lithuanian stripped of London 2012 canoe silver medal: IOC

BERLIN (Reuters) - Lithuanian Jevgenij Shuklin, who won silver in Canoe Sprint at the London 2012 Olympics, has been stripped of his medal after re-tests of his sample were positive for a banned substance, the International Olympic Committee said on Wednesday.

UPCOMING

ATHLETICS

ATHLETICS-DIAMOND-OSLO/ (PIX)

Athletics - Diamond League - Oslo

Oslo Diamond League athletics meetings

13 Jun 13:05 ET / 17:05 GMT

BADMINTON

BADMINTON-MALAYSIA/ (PIX) (TV)

Malaysia's top shuttler expected to announce retirement

Malaysian badminton player Lee Chong Wei gives a news conference where he is likely to announce his retirement from the sport.

Jun 13

CRICKET

CRICKET-WORLDCUP-ENG-WIN/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Cricket - ICC Cricket World Cup - England & West Indies nets & news conferences

England and West Indies prepare for the ICC Cricket World Cup match at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton.

13 Jun 04:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

CRICKET-WORLDCUP-IND-NZL/ (PIX) (TV)

Cricket - ICC Cricket World Cup - India v New Zealand

India play New Zealand at Trent Bridge in the ICC Cricket World Cup.

13 Jun 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-USOPEN/ (PIX)

Golf - U.S. Open first round

Coverage of the first round of the major championship at Pebble Beach in California.

Jun 13

GOLF-USOPEN/POLLUTION

Golf-Teenager discovers massive golf ball pollution in waters off Pebble Beach

A California teenager discovered hundreds of thousands of golf balls in the waters off famed coastal golf course Pebble Beach, leading to clean up efforts.

12 Jun 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-BOS-STL/ (PIX) (TV)

Ice Hockey - NHL - Stanley Cup Finals - Boston Bruins v St Louis Blues

The Boston Bruins host the St Louis Blues in the decisive seventh game of the NHL's Stanley Cup Final.

12 Jun 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

MOTOR RACING

MOTOR-LEMANS/

Motor racing - 24 Hours of Le Mans - Qualifying

Action from qualifying for the Le Mans 24 Hours.

12 Jun 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

MOTOR-LEMANS/

Motor racing-First qualifying for Le Mans 24 Hours

First qualifying for the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Defending champions Toyota are favorites for pole.

12 Jun 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

MOTOR-RALLY-ITALY/ (TV)

World Rally Championship - Rally of Italy in Sardinia

Action from the shakedown for the Rally of Italy in Sardinia - the eighth round of the World Rally Championship.

13 Jun 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/

Super Rugby - Wild weekend as playoffs positions confirmed

No fewer than eight teams will compete for five wildcard spots in the playoffs in what promises to be a nail-biting final round of Super Rugby

13 Jun 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SOCCER

SOCCER-BRAZIL-INL-BAH/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Brasileiro Championship - Internacional v Bahia Brasileiro Championship - Internacional v Bahia

12 Jun 22:30 ET / 02:30 GMT

SOCCER-GOLDCUP/CONCACAF

Soccer - Gold Cup - Expanded Gold Cup offers fresh start for CONCACAF

A look at the Gold Cup and organizers CONCACAF as they seek to bounce back from a scandal hit period and reorganize their top brass and their leading international tournament played by 16 teams from North America, Central America and the Caribbean.

12 Jun 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-GOLDCUP/MEXICO

Soccer - Gold Cup - The challenges facing Mexico in this year's Gold Cup

The challenges facing Mexico and new manager Gerardo Martino, as they take part as one of the 16 participants in this year's Gold Cup

12 Jun 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-GOLDCUP/TEAMS

Soccer - Gold Cup - Preview of the 16 teams taking part in this year's Gold Cup

A short outline of the 16 teams taking part in this year's Gold Cup

12 Jun 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-MAD/HAZARD (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Spain - Eden Hazard unveiled as new Real Madrid player

Belgium playmaker Eden Hazard will be unveiled as new Real Madrid player at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium. The 28-year-old agreed a five-year deal with the club in a reported 100 million euros ($113.35 million) transfer from Chelsea.

13 Jun 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-AUS-BRA/REPORT

Soccer - FIFA Women's World Cup - Australia v Brazil

Australia play Brazil at the Stade de La Mosson in Montpellier.

13 Jun 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ZAF-CHN/REPORT

Soccer - FIFA Women's World Cup - South Africa v China South Africa play China at the Parc des Princes in Paris.

13 Jun 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP

Women’s World Cup

Field Level Media-Recapping the day of action at the Women’s World Cup.

Expect ASAP after 3 p.m. match ends

TENNIS

TENNIS-STUTTGART/

Tennis - ATP 250 - Mercedes Cup Alexander Zverev is top seed for the ATP 250 Series Mercedes Cup, the season's first grass-court event

Jun 13

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

ICEHOCKEY-BOS-STL

Field Level Media-Stanley Cup Final finale

BOSTON – One game Wednesday night decides the king of the NHL. With the Boston Bruins and St. Louis Blues tied 3-3 in the best-of-seven Final, the Stanley Cup is on the line in the final game of the series at TD Garden.

Expect ASAP after game ends, by Kyle Brasseur

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

BASKETBALL-NBA-GSW-TOR

Field Level Media-Warriors home, focused on Game 6

OAKLAND – Golden State returned home with a shuffled deck of a roster once more, but the Warriors are not looking beyond Game 6 on Thursday. Toronto needs only one win in the final two games of the NBA Finals as the Raptors are ahead in the best-of-seven series 3-2.

expect Game 6 preview by 6 p.m. ET, by David Del Grande

BASKETBALL-NBA-GSW-ALLSTARS

Field Level Media-Golden State counting on constants in Curry, Klay, Green

OAKLAND – No Kevin Durant and Kevon Looney is still playing hurt. That leaves Golden State a bit short but coach Steve Kerr has Steph Curry, Klay Thompson and Draymond Green leading a rotation that’s been in the NBA Finals pressure cooker before.

Expect by 7 p.m. ET

06/12/2019 18:33

News, Photo and Web Search