REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6.30 p.m. GMT/ 2.30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6.30 p.m. GMT/ 2.30 p.m. ET For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

SPORTS

GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Tiger struggles early at PGA Championship, Koepka shares lead

Tiger Woods mixed two double-bogeys with a birdie to sit six shots back of defending champion and early joint leader Brooks Koepka midway through his first round at the PGA Championship on Thursday.

SOCCER-EUROPE/LEAGUES

Champions League plan benefits "rich and dominant" clubs, say leagues

A proposal to create a near-closed Champions League would benefit only a small number of rich and dominant clubs, Europe's domestic leagues said on Thursday.

CYCLING-GIRO/

Italy celebrates as Masnada wins stage, Conti leads Giro

Italian Fausto Masnada won the sixth stage of the Giro d'Italia as Primoz Roglic lost the overall leader's pink jersey to UAE Team Emirates rider Valerio Conti on Thursday.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-BELGIUM/ (PIX)

Soccer - Belgian league title could de decided

Racing Genk can win the title in Belgium for the first time since 2011 if they get result at Anderlecht and their only challengers Club Bruges, who are playing at Standard Liege at the same time, stumble.

16 May 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP/QATAR (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Qatar opens first new World Cup stadium as tournament's fate looms

Qatar on Thursday will inaugurate its first newly built World Cup stadium just weeks before a critical FIFA summit that could push it to share the spotlight with its neighbors despite a protracted row that has complicated FIFA's drive to expand the tournament.

16 May 15:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ZAF/ (PIX)

Soccer - Women's World Cup - South Africa squad announcement

South Africa name their squad for next month's women's World Cup in France, where they will be making their made appearance at the finals.

17 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-USA-NZL/

Soccer - Women's International Friendly - United States v New Zealand

World champions United States face New Zealand in a friendly in St Louis, Missouri as both sides prepare for the FIFA Women's World Cup in France which starts on June 7.

16 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-WAT/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - FA Cup Final - Manchester City news conference

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola speaks to the media ahead of the FA Cup final against Watford as his side attempt to become the first team to win the English domestic treble.

17 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-COPA-BRA/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Copa America - Brazil squad announcement

Brazil coach Tite announces his squad ahead of the Copa America.

17 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-EUROLEAGUE/

Basketball - Euroleague Final Four

Holders Real Madrid take on CSKA Moscow while Fenerbahce clash with Istanbul city rivals Anadolu Efes in the Euroleague semi-finals

17 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-GSW-POR

Field Level Media-Warriors run toward 2-0 edge

OAKLAND – Steph Curry has returned to his Superman role with Kevin Durant sidelined, and the Golden State Warriors are 3-0 since losing their star forward.

16 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-MIL-TOR

Field Level Media-PREVIEW: Bucks attempt to take two from Toronto

The Milwaukee Bucks zero in on a 2-0 lead in the Eastern Conference finals against the Toronto Raptors.

16 May 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/

Rugby - Super Rugby Week 14

Super Rugby week 14

17 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/REBELS

Rugby-Melbourne Rebels v Bulls

The Melbourne Rebels look to maintain contact with the ACT Brumbies in the Australian conference of Super Rugby against the Bulls, who are also just a point behind the South African leaders the Sharks.

17 May 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-ROME/ (PIX)

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Italian Open

Action from the quarter-finals of the Italian Open - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

17 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

TENNIS-ROME/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Italian Open

Action from the quarter-finals of the Italian Open - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event in Rome.

17 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CYCLING

CYCLING-GIRO/ (PIX) (TV)

Cycling - Giro d'Italia

Stage seven of the Giro d'Italia is a 185-kilometer ride from Vasto to L'Aquila.

17 May 06:25 ET / 10:25 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-ODI-ENG-PAK/ (PIX)

Cricket - Fourth One Day International - England v Pakistan

England play Pakistan in their fourth one day international in Nottingham.

17 May 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV)

Golf - PGA Championship second round

Second round coverage of the major championship at Bethpage Black in New York.

17 May 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

GOLF-PGA-PGACHAMPIONSHIP

Field Level Media-Koepka crushes Bethpage Black for another major lead

Brooks Koepka opened his round with a 40-foot birdie putt and left Tiger Woods and most of the rest of the field in his wake in the first round of the 2019 PGA Championship at Bethpage Black.

16 May 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

GOLF-PGA-WOODS-PGACHAMPIONSHIP

Field Level Media-Woods survives pair of double bogeys

Tiger Woods carded a pair of double bogeys in his first nine holes. When Woods shifted to the front nine on Thursday, he found his stroke and kept himself in contention in the PGA Championship at Bethpage Black.

16 May 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

FOOTBALL

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK

Field Level Media-NFL notebook

News and notes from around the NFL.

16 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

05/16/2019 18:25

News, Photo and Web Search