REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 1500 GMT/1100 ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

TENNIS-ROME/

Men's big three and Osaka through to last 16 in Rome

ROME - Former world number one Roger Federer marked his return to the Italian Open for the first time since 2016 with a 6-4 6-3 second round win over Joao Sousa on Thursday as top seed Novak Djokovic and holder Rafael Nadal also reached the last 16.

GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Tiger Woods seeks second straight major win at PGA Championship

FARMINGDALE, N.Y. - Masters champion Tiger Woods launched his quest for a second consecutive major title and a possible return to number one in the world rankings at the opening round of the PGA Championship on Thursday.

SOCCER-GERMANY-BAY-SGE/PREVIEW

Soccer-Kovac aware Bayern future rests on two title deciders

BERLIN, - Bayern Munich coach Niko Kovac is aware his future with the German champions rests on Saturday's Bundesliga title-deciding finale and the German Cup final despite being contracted to 2021.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-BELGIUM/ (PIX)

Soccer - Belgian league title could de decided

Racing Genk can win the title in Belgium for the first time since 2011 if they get result at Anderlecht and their only challengers Club Bruges, who are playing at Standard Liege at the same time, stumble.

16 May 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP/QATAR (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Qatar opens first new World Cup stadium as tournament's fate looms

Qatar on Thursday will inaugurate its first newly built World Cup stadium just weeks before a critical FIFA summit that could push it to share the spotlight with its neighbors despite a protracted row that has complicated FIFA's drive to expand the tournament.

16 May 15:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-LYO-FCB/

Soccer - Interview with Barcelona vice president Jordi

Mestre ahead of Women's Champions League final

Barcelona's vice-president Jordi Mestre speaks to Reuters ahead of the Women's Champions League final against Olympique Lyonnais.

16 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ZAF/ (PIX)

Soccer - Women's World Cup - South Africa squad announcement

South Africa name their squad for next month's women's World Cup in France, where they will be making their made appearance at the finals.

17 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-USA-NZL/

Soccer - Women's International Friendly - United States v New Zealand

World champions United States face New Zealand in a friendly in St Louis, Missouri as both sides prepare for the FIFA Women's World Cup in France which starts on June 7.

16 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-WAT/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - FA Cup Final - Manchester City news conference

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola speaks to the media ahead of the FA Cup final against Watford as his side attempt to become the first team to win the English domestic treble.

17 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-COPA-BRA/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Copa America - Brazil squad announcement

Brazil coach Tite announces his squad ahead of the Copa America.

17 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/

Rugby - Super Rugby Week 14

Super Rugby week 14

17 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/REBELS

Rugby-Melbourne Rebels v Bulls

The Melbourne Rebels look to maintain contact with the ACT

Brumbies in the Australian conference of Super Rugby against the Bulls, who are also just a point behind the South African leaders the Sharks.

17 May 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-ROME/ (PIX)

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Italian Open

Action from the quarter-finals of the Italian Open - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

17 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

TENNIS-ROME/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Italian Open

Action from the quarter-finals of the Italian Open - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event in Rome.

17 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CYCLING

CYCLING-GIRO/ (PIX) (TV)

Cycling - Giro d'Italia

Stage seven of the Giro d'Italia is a 185-kilometer ride from Vasto to L'Aquila.

17 May 06:25 ET / 10:25 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-ODI-ENG-PAK/ (PIX)

Cricket - Fourth One Day International - England v Pakistan

England play Pakistan in their fourth one day international in Nottingham.

17 May 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-PGACHAMP/ (PIX) (TV)

Golf - PGA Championship second round

Second round coverage of the major championship at Bethpage Black in New York.

17 May 06:45 ET / 10:45 GMT

05/16/2019 15:11

News, Photo and Web Search