REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 7:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

SPORTS

SOCCER-ENGLAND-OAT/

Scholes says ready for League Two challenge with Oldham

Former Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes believes the time is right to begin his managerial career after being appointed Oldham Athletic manager on a one-and-a-half-year contract on Monday.

MOTOR-F1-TOROROSSO/

Toro Rosso look for improvement with new lineup

Toro Rosso expressed confidence in engine partner Honda and a new driver line-up on Monday as they became the second Formula One team to pull the covers off their 2019 car.

ALPINE-WORLD/

Alpine skiing-Pinturault braves tough conditions to take combined gold

STOCKHOLM, Feb 11 (Reuters) - Alexis Pinturault of France burst out of the pack to claim the gold in the men's combined event at the Alpine World Skiing Championships in Are on Monday as the Swedish weather once again made it tough for the competitors.

UPCOMING

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

THAILAND-BAHRAIN/REFUGEE (PIX)

"He is a free man": Thailand releases refugee Bahraini footballer after extradition bid dropped

Thailand on Monday freed a jailed refugee Bahraini footballer with residency status in Australia, after Bahrain abandoned its bid to seek his extradition, and immigration officials said he was immediately driven to the airport.

12 Feb 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

FOOTBALL

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK

Field Level Media - NFL notebook

News and notes from around the league.

11 Feb 19:30 ET/00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-NBA-ROUNDUP

Field Level Media - NBA Roundup

Capsule recaps of all games on the schedule Sunday.

Feb 11

SOCCER

SOCCER-CANADA/

Soccer-Canada looks for unprecedented growth of sport

Soccer Canada general secretary Peter Montopoli and men's head coach John Herdman discuss plans to grow the sport in Canada.

11 Feb 17:00 ET / 22:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-WLV-NEW/ (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Wolverhampton Wanderers v Newcastle United

11 Feb 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-AJA-MAD/

Soccer - Real Madrid experiencing youthful revolution as they visit Ajax's talent factory

Ajax have a well earned reputation for producing top talent and quickly shipping players off, while their Champions League opponents Real Madrid have recently followed a policy of spotting hopeful promises at an early age and bringing them to the club, with breakout Brazilian Vinicius Jr the latest success story.

12 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-AJA-MAD/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Ajax Amsterdam v Real Madrid - news conferences & training

Ajax Amsterdam and Real Madrid prepare for the first leg of their Champions League last-16 tie.

12 Feb 09:15 ET / 14:15 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-ROTTERDAM/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 500 - Rotterdam Open

Action from round one of the Rotterdam Open - an ATP World Tour 500 event.

12 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

TENNIS-NEWYORK/

Tennis - ATP 250 - New York Open

The ATP hosts a World Tour 250 event in New York.

Feb 12

TENNIS-DOHA/

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Qatar Open

The WTA hosts a Premier 5 event in Doha, Qatar.

Feb 12

MOTOR RACING

MOTOR-F1-RENAULT/ (TV)

Motor racing-Renault Formula One car launch

Renault present the 2019 car that German Nico Hulkenberg and Australian Daniel Ricciardo will drive this season.

12 Feb 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-TEST-WIN-ENG/ (PIX)

Cricket - West Indies v England - Third Test

Day four as West Indies play England in the third and final test of their series in St Lucia.

12 Feb

OLYMPICS

OLYMPICS-2020/VENUES (PIX) (TV)

Olympics - Tokyo 2020 venue tour

With just over 500 days to go until the start of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, an update is delivered on some of the venues being built for the summer showpiece.

12 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

SKIING

ALPINE-WORLD/ (PIX)

FIS Alpine World Ski Championships

Are, Sweden hosts the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships. Day eight is the Alpine Team event.

12 Feb

02/11/2019 14:28

News, Photo and Web Search