Oklahoma, Alabama QBs split top awards

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Alabama counterpart Tua Tagovailoa split top honors as college football awards were announced Thursday.

Murray was named The Associated Press College Football Player of the Year and winner of the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's top quarterback. Tagovailoa won the Walter Camp Award and the Maxwell Award, both given annually to the top player in college football.

Murray received 39 of 56 first-place votes and 145 total points in becoming the fifth Sooners player to win the AP award. Tagovailoa received 13 first-place votes (117 points), and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins got four first-place votes and 55 total points.

The other finalists for the O'Brien award were Tagovailoa and Washington State's Gardner Minshew.

Murray, Tagovailoa and Haskins are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be awarded Saturday. Murray's fourth-ranked Sooners will face Tagovailoa and the top-ranked Tide on Dec. 29 in the Orange Bowl, one of the College Football Playoff semifinals.

"It's humbling and an honor to be named AP Player of the Year -- to be mentioned in the same realm as a lot of great players, a lot of hall of famers," Murray said in a statement. "It's a special deal for me and hopefully I can continue to make my family and teammates proud. It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it. All the hard work with my teammates has really paid off."

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won the award last season. Sooners quarterbacks Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) have also won the AP Player of the Year Award.

Murray, a junior, leads the nation in total offense (4,945 yards), points responsible for (306) and passing efficiency (205.7). This is expected to be his final season of football as he was selected ninth overall by the Oakland A's in the 2018 draft and signed a contract worth nearly $5 million.

Tagovailoa, a sophomore who came to prominence when he rallied Alabama to an overtime win in the national championship game last season, has thrown for 3,353 yards and 37 touchdowns while tossing only four interceptions. He has yet to lose a game as a starting quarterback.

Haskins is a redshirt sophomore also in his first season as a starter. His 4,580 yards and 47 touchdowns passing are both Ohio State and Big Ten single-season records. The Buckeyes are ranked sixth and will face No. 9 Washington in the Rose Bowl after a second straight Big Ten championship.

In other awards announced Thursday:

--Alabama's Jerry Jeudy took home the Biletnikoff Award, signifying the best receiver. Jeudy, a sophomore who has 59 catches for 1,103 yards and 12 touchdowns, bested finalists Andy Isabella of Massachusetts and Tylan Wallace of Oklahoma State.

--Crimson Tide defensive tackle Quinnen Williams was honored with the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's best interior lineman. The other finalists were his teammate, offensive tackle Jonah Williams, and Clemson defensive tackle Christian Wilkins. Quinnen Williams has 66 tackles -- 18 for loss -- and eight sacks this season.

--Wisconsin sophomore Jonathan Taylor won the Doak Walker award as the top running back over Clemson's Travis Etienne and Memphis' Darrell Henderson. Taylor has amassed 1,989 yards and 15 touchdowns on 280 carries this season.

--Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen took home the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the national defensive player of the year. The other finalists: Quinnen Williams and Christian Wilkins.

--Syracuse's Andre Szmyt received the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award over Wyoming's Cooper Rothe and LSU's Cole Tracy.

--Texas A&M's Braden Mann won the Ray Guy Award as the top punter over Cincinnati's James Smith and Utah's Mitch Wishnowsky.

--Georgia's DeAndre Baker captured the Jim Thorpe Award as the top defensive back over LSU's Greedy Williams and Notre Dame's Julian Love.

--Field Level Media

12/07/2018 0:19

News, Photo and Web Search