Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday.

SOCCER

2018 World Cup qualifying

Europe

Group C

Czech Republic v San Marino (1845)

Germany v Azerbaijan (1845)

Norway v Northern Ireland (1845)

Group E

Denmark v Romania (1600)

Kazakhstan v Armenia (1600)

Poland v Montenegro (1600)

Group F

Lithuania v England (1600)

Slovakia v Malta (1600)

Slovenia v Scotland (1600)

Poland eye World Cup place

Poland need a point from their final qualifying match against Montenegro to book their place in next year's finals. Scotland and Northern Ireland can confirm playoff spots. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-TEAM/, (PIX) expect throughout)

MOTOR RACING

Hamilton leads, Vettel retires

SUZUKA, Japan - Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton leads the Japanese Grand Prix while main title rival Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari has retired due to an engine issue. (MOTOR-F1-JAPAN/ (PIX), expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, by Abhishek Takle, 500 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock

NFL

Packers, Cowboys clash in Texas

The Carolina Panthers and Detroit Lions, a pair of 3-1 teams, meet in Detroit before the Green Bay Packers (3-1) and Dallas Cowboys (2-2) face off in Texas and the undefeated Kansas City Chiefs (4-0) visit the Houston Texans (2-2) in three of the 12 games on the schedule. (FOOTBALL-NFL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 900 words)

CRICKET

South Africa v Bangladesh, 2nd test

South Africa eye series sweep

BLOEMFONTEIN, South Africa - Bangladesh will resume on the third day at seven without loss in their second innings, trailing by 419 runs as South Africa bid to complete a 2-0 victory in the series. (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-BGD/, expect throughout, by Mark Gleeson, 300 words)

TENNIS

China Open

Nadal plays Kyrgios in final

BEIJING - World number one Rafael Nadal will play Nick Kyrgios in the final. (TENNIS-BEIJING/MEN (PIX, TV), 300 words)

Halep to become world number one

BEIJING - Simona Halep will play Caroline Garcia in the final. (TENNIS-BEIJING/WOMEN, (PIX), 300 words)

GYMNASTICS

World Artistic Gymnastics Championships

Apparatus finals wrap up worlds in Montreal

The world gymnastics championships conclude with men's and women's apparatus finals at Montreal's Olympic Stadium. (GYMNASTICS-WORLD/ (TV), expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, 350 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Safeway Open

Duncan leads by one in California

Tyler Duncan leads by one stroke over fellow American Chesson Hadley heading into the final round of the opening event of the 2017-18 PGA Tour season at Silverado Resort. (GOLF-SILVERADO/SAFEWAY, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

ATHLETICS

Chicago marathon

Defending champions Abel Kirui and Florence Kiplagat of Kenya face major challenges in the Chicago Marathon with world record holder Dennis Kimetto, former New York City winner Stanley Biwott and Olympic medalists Feyisa Lilesa and Galen Rupp also in the race. (ATHLETICS-CHICAGO/ expect by 1515 GMT/11:15 AM ET, 300 words300 words)

BASEBALL

Astros, Indians go for series sweep

The Houston Astros and Cleveland Indians can wrap up their American League Division Series with victories when the Astros travel to the Boston Red Sox and the Indians play at the New York Yankees with both visiting teams holding 2-0 leads in the best-of-five series. (BASEBALL-MLB/PLAYOFFS, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Predators and Penguins meet in Cup rematch

The Nashville Predators visit the Pittsburgh Penguins in a rematch of last season's Stanley Cup Final won by Pittsburgh before the Edmonton Oilers travel to Vancouver in two of 15 games on the schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

(Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

10/08/2017 2:00

News, Photo and Web Search