Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday:

SOCCER

2018 World Cup qualifying

Europe

GROUP D

Georgia v Wales (1600)

Austria v Serbia (1845)

Ireland v Moldova (1845)

GROUP G

Italy v Macedonia (1845)

Liechtenstein v Israel (1845)

Spain v Albania (1845)

GROUP I

Croatia v Finland (1845)

Kosovo v Ukraine (1845)

Turkey v Iceland (1845)

Spain and Serbia aim to clinch World Cup spots

Spain and Serbia can claim places at next year's World Cup, with the Spanish able to secure a spot when they host Albania if they better Italy's result against Macedonia, while the Serbians can guarantee their passage to Moscow with a win in Austria.

We will also bring you all the build-up to the rest of this week's World Cup qualifiers, including news conferences with players and managers, as teams jostle for places at next year's tournament in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/TEAM, expect throughout)

We won't fear Dutch showdown, says Sweden keeper Olsen

STOCKHOLM - Sweden goalkeeper Robin Olsen, whose side host Luxembourg Saturday, will not fear traveling to Amsterdam looking for a result against a Netherlands side that has failed to impress in the World Cup qualifiers. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE/OLSEN, expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Phil O'Connor, 500 words)

Africa

Group C

Mali v Ivory Coast (1900)

Mali look to spoil Ivory Coast's progress

BAMAKO - Mali are out of World Cup contention but can still prove spoilers against an injury-hit Ivorian team who have a slender lead at the head of Group C. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-MLI-CIV, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 250 words)

North and Central America

U.S. host Panama in crucial game

United States face Panama in a crunch World Cup qualifier while Costa Rica could confirm their place in Russia with a win over Honduras on a night of tense encounters in the penultimate CONCACAF round of games. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-USA-PAN/ (PIX), expect by 11 PM ET/0300 GMT, 350 words)

MOTOR RACING

Japanese Grand Prix (8)

Hamilton fastest in wet second practice

SUZUKA, Japan - Championship leader Lewis Hamilton was fastest in a rain-hit second practice session. (MOTOR-F1-JAPAN/PRACTICE (PIX), moved with updates and sidebars to follow, by Abhishek Takle, 400 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

TENNIS

China Open

Nadal beats Isner in quarter-finals

BEIJING - World number one Rafael Nadal beat John Isner in straight sets in the quarter-finals and will meet Grigor Dimitrov in the last four. (TENNIS-BEIJING/MEN (PIX, TV), moved, 300 words)

Halep and Ostapenko bid for semi-final spots

BEIJING - Second seed Simona Halep takes on Daria Kasatkina while French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko faces Sorana Cirstea in the quarter-finals. (TENNIS-BEIJING/WOMEN (PIX), 400 words)

RUGBY UNION

Rugby Championship

South Africa, NZ captains holds news conferences

CAPE TOWN - South Africa captain Eben Etzebeth and his New Zealand counterpart Kieran Reed hold news conferences on the eve of Saturday's test against New Zealand. (RUGBY UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-ZAF/, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

CRICKET

South Africa v Bangladesh, 2nd test

South Africa start well

BLOEMFONTEIN - South Africa moved on to 126 for no wicket at lunch on the first day. (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-BGD/, moved with updates to follow, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

GYMNASTICS

World Artistic Gymnastics Championships (to 8)

Women's all-around title wide open

The women's all-around title is up for grabs in Montreal in the absence of several stars, including Olympic gold medallist Simone Biles and injured Romanian Larisa Iordache. Japan’s Mai Murakami was the top qualifier while others who could challenge include American Ragan Smith and Canadian Ellie Black. (GYMNASTICS-WORLD/ (TV), expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 350 words)

GOLF

Caddies measure success on and off the course

Many PGA Tour caddies use their time off the course to supplement their earnings with entrepreneurial businesses as varied as creating and marketing new drinks to selling Christmas trees. (GOLF-CADDIES/BUSINESSSENTIMENT (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Andrew Both, 600 words)

PGA Tour: Safeway Open (to 8) Napa, California Second round wrap from the opening event of the 2017-18 PGA Tour season at Silverado Resort. (GOLF-SILVERADO/SAFEWAY, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

BASEBALL

National League Division Series begins

The Washington Nationals host the defending World Series champion Chicago Cubs in Game One of the National League Division Series, before Clayton Kershaw takes his miserly 2.31 ERA to the mound as the Los Angeles Dodgers host the Arizona Diamondbacks in the nightcap. In the American League, the Houston Astros seek to turn the screws on the Boston Red Sox in Game Two of their series, while Corey Kluber (Cleveland) and C.C. Sabathia (New York) are scheduled to start in Game Two as the Indians and Yankees continue their series. (BASEBALL-MLB/PLAYOFFS, expect by 0530 GMT/1.30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Expansion team Knights make league debut

After winning three Stanley Cups with the Pittsburgh Penguins, veteran goalie Marc-Andre Fleury begins a new phase of his career with the Las Vegas Knights as the league’s newest expansion team debuts with a visit to the Dallas Stars in one of three games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

(Europe desk editor: Ed Osmond)

10/06/2017 10:01

News, Photo and Web Search