Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Friday

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Friday:


PGA Tour: Valspar Championship, Palm Harbor (to 11)

Woods in mix as Canadian Conners leads

Tiger Woods took the bite out of the "Snake Pit" in his Valspar Championship debut to sit three shots behind clubhouse leader Corey Conners of Canada in first round action at Palm Harbor, Florida on Thursday. (GOLF-VALSPAR/, moved, expect update, 400 words)


South Africa v Australia, second test

South Africa face Australia in hostile atmosphere

PORT ELIZABETH - South Africa host Australia in the second test at St George's Park with both captains seeking to quell tensions after the tourists' win in the opener in Durban was overshadowed by an off-field row. (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-AUS/, expect throughout, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)


ATP/WTA: BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells (to 18)

Serena ready for WTA return at Indian Wells

Unseeded former champion Serena Williams, who has not played competitively in singles since winning the Australian Open in 2017, opens her Indian Wells campaign with a first round clash against Zarina Diyas of Kazakhstan to kick off the night session. Twice grand slam champion Victoria Azarenka then plays her first match since Wimbledon. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/WOMEN, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Donaldson, Shapovalov in first round action

American Jared Donaldson, fresh off his run to the semi-finals at the Mexican Open, and Canadian Denis Shapovalov are among those in first round action at Indian Wells. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/MEN, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 400 words)


Super Rugby (week four)

Otago Highlanders v Stormers, Dunedin (0635)

Melbourne Rebels v ACT Brumbies, Melbourne (0845)

The Otago Highlanders return from their bye, after playing just their opening game, to face a big Stormers side who pushed the eight-time champion Canterbury Crusaders last week. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/HIGHLANDERS, expect by 1000 GMT/5 AM ET, 400 words)

We will also move rolling HIGHLIGHTS of every match in the round.

Six Nations

Italy name team to face Wales

CARDIFF - Italy coach Connor O'Shea names his team for Sunday's Six Nations clash against Wales followed by a news conference. (RUGBY-UNION-NATIONS-ITA/, 300 words)



Mainz v Schalke 04 (1930)

Schalke travel to struggling Mainz looking to stay second

Schalke 04 battle to hold on to second place in the Bundesliga when they face strugglers Mainz as they try to remain in the Champions League spots. (SOCCER-GERMANY-MAI-S04/ (TV), expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 300 words)

Ligue 1

Strasbourg v Monaco (1945)

Monaco visit Strasbourg aiming to consolidate second place

Monaco visit lowly Strasbourg looking to cement second place in Ligue 1 by moving a provisional seven points clear of Olympique Marseille who play on Sunday. (SOCCER-FRANCE-STR-AMO/ (PIX), expect by 2145 GMT/4:45 PM ET, 300 words)

Premier League

We continue the build-up to all the weekend matches including Saturday's clash between arch-rivals Manchester United and Liverpool. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect throughout)


Final day of Formula One pre-season testing

BARCELONA - Formula One wraps up pre-season testing, with teams preparing to pack up and head to Australia for the opening race on March 25. (MOTOR-F1-TESTING/ (PIX, TV), 400 words)


Shiffrin has chance to wrap up overall World Cup title

OFTERSCHWANG, Germany - American Mikaela Shiffrin will win the women's overall World Cup title if she finishes at least sixth in the giant slalom. (ALPINE-SKIING/WOMEN, 200 words)


Streaking Warriors face Spurs, Celtics battle T-Wolves

The reigning champion Golden State Warriors try to make it seven consecutive wins when they host the San Antonio Spurs while the Boston Celtics try to close in on the Eastern Conference-leading Toronto Raptors when they battle the Minnesota Timberwolves in two of the five games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 300 words)


Red-hot Predators face Ducks, Bruins host Flyers

The Nashville Predators try to extend the leagues longest active win streak to 10 games when they host the Anaheim Ducks while the Boston Bruins put their four-game win streak on the line when they host the Philadelphia Flyers in two of the 12 games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 300 words)


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Asia Desk Editor: Ian Ransom)

03/08/2018 19:01

News, Photo and Web Search