Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Sunday

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Sunday.

SOCCER

2018 World Cup qualifying

Europe

Group C

Czech Republic v San Marino (1845)

Germany v Azerbaijan (1845)

Norway v Northern Ireland (1845)

Group E

Denmark v Romania (1600)

Kazakhstan v Armenia (1600)

Poland v Montenegro (1600)

Group F

Lithuania v England (1600)

Slovakia v Malta (1600)

Slovenia v Scotland (1600)

Poland eye World Cup place

Poland need a point from their final qualifying match against Montenegro to book their place in next year's finals. Scotland and Northern Ireland can confirm playoff spots. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-TEAM/, (PIX) expect throughout)

MOTOR RACING

Japanese Grand Prix

Hamilton starts on pole with Vettel also on front row

SUZUKA, Japan - Lewis Hamilton, already well clear of Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel in the title race, starts on pole position for Mercedes with a great chance of stretching his championship lead beyond 40 points. (MOTOR-F1-JAPAN/ (PIX), expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, by Abhishek Takle, 500 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock

NFL

Packers, Cowboys clash in Texas

The Carolina Panthers and Detroit Lions, a pair of 3-1 teams, meet in Detroit before the Green Bay Packers (3-1) and Dallas Cowboys (2-2) face off in Texas and the undefeated Kansas City Chiefs (4-0) visit the Houston Texans (2-2) in three of the 12 games on the schedule. (FOOTBALL-NFL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 900 words)

CRICKET

South Africa v Bangladesh, 2nd test

South Africa eye series sweep

BLOEMFONTEIN, South Africa - Bangladesh will resume on the third day at seven without loss in their second innings, trailing by 419 runs as South Africa bid to complete a 2-0 victory in the series. (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-BGD/, expect throughout, by Mark Gleeson, 300 words)

TENNIS

China Open

Nadal plays Kyrgios in final

BEIJING - World number one Rafael Nadal will play Nick Kyrgios in the final. (TENNIS-BEIJING/MEN (PIX, TV), 300 words)

Halep to become world number one

BEIJING - Simona Halep will play Caroline Garcia in the final. (TENNIS-BEIJING/WOMEN, (PIX), 300 words)

RUGBY

Argentina face Australia in Rugby Championship

Argentina's Pumas will be looking to avoid finishing the Rugby Championship without a point when they meet Australia in their final match in Mendoza while the Wallabies will try to finish in second place behind champions New Zealand. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-ARG-AUS/ (PIX), expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by Rex Gowar, 400 words)

GYMNASTICS

World Artistic Gymnastics Championships

Individual titles at stake in Montreal

The world gymnastics championships conclude this weekend with men's and women's individual apparatus finals at Montreal's Olympic Stadium. (GYMNASTICS-WORLD/ (TV), expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, 350 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Safeway Open Napa, California

Third round wrap from the opening event of the 2017-18 PGA Tour season at Silverado Resort. (GOLF-SILVERADO/SAFEWAY, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

ATHLETICS

Chicago marathon

Defending champions Abel Kirui and Florence Kiplagat of Kenya face major challenges in the Chicago Marathon with world record holder Dennis Kimetto, former New York City winner Stanley Biwott and Olympic medalists Feyisa Lilesa and Galen Rupp also in the race. (ATHLETICS-CHICAGO/ 300 words)

BASEBALL

Four times All-Star Jon Lester will be on the mound as the World Series champion Chicago Cubs face the Washington Nationals before the Arizona Diamondbacks visit the Los Angeles Dodgers as the National League Division Series takes center stage with Game Two action. (BASEBALL-MLB/PLAYOFFS, expect by 0600 GMT/2 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Predators and Penguins meet in rematch

The Nashville Predators visit the Pittsburgh Penguins in a rematch of last season's Stanley Cup Final won by Pittsburgh before the Edmonton Oilers travel to Vancouver in two of 15 games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

(Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

10/07/2017 20:01

News, Photo and Web Search